Manhole Monday: AAF Fargo North Dakota

Alright friends, here we go. Oh my goodness. This one is cray. I have said on here time and time again that I’m so grateful for my speaking engagements because it gives me the opportunity to travel to different cities and experience new cultures while bringing my love of typography to the masses (haha, more like 30-50 people on average but whatever, who’s counting?!). Being able to experience the culture first hand has been such an amazing experience for me. I have truly loved learning more about each city with the customized presentations I have put together and, of course, meeting new people along the way.
Out of all the cities I have been to, tomorrow’s speaking engagement will rank at the top of the list as the most unusual city I have visited to date: Fargo, North Dakota:

  • I have never been to North Dakota.
  • I don’t think I know anyone from North Dakota.
  • I can’t recall ever saying ‘North Dakota’ except when I was a kid in school and had to identify its location on a map.

*culture shock*

My love of typography is taking me to Fargo, North Dakota and I couldn’t be more excited. My presentation is being held by the American Advertising Federation of North Dakota on Tuesday, March 27.

I always jump at any opportunity to help students in any way I can. When they asked me if I’d like to speak to the students at the local college there, I didn’t even hesitate. So, I will be giving my talk 10 Things I Have Learned By Working Hard & Being Ballsy to the students and then after that I’ll be participating in their Portfolio Prep Panel Discussion. That evening I will be speaking to the professional chapter about How Culture Affects Typography. It will be a nerve wracking jam packed super fun day…in Fargo…North Dakota!

Here’s one of the pictures sent in for my typography talk taken by Briann Sandholm:coverSee? They know what’s up in Fargo! I can’t wait to see what this city has to offer! I’ll be posting pictures on my Instagram account (assuming my phone doesn’t die like it did in Milwaukee) with the hashtag #FargoType today, tomorrow and Wednesday. Follow along @nikki_vz!

Fargo! North Dakota!

Leave a comment