the guardian

Pure bliss for me is walking around a city with camera in hand the day after one of my speaking engagements. I am completely in my element disconnected from my normal day to day responsibilities and engrossed in the city around me. I love observing the buildings, the signs, the manhole covers (duh!), the graffiti…anything that makes that city unique. While walking around Detroit the morning after my talk, I was in awe at how beautiful the city is. I don’t know what I was expecting but it really took me by surprise. One building in particular really stood out to me — The Guardian Building — so much so that it reminded me of the beloved Niagra Mohawk building in Syracuse, NY. Here are some of my snaps of the building:guardian-buidling-1(I’m really pissed at myself for this one being so blurry wtf)guardian-buidling-2guardian-buidling-3guardian-buidling-4guardian-buidling-5guardian-buidling-6guardian-buidling-7Here’s the history via Wikipedia:
The Guardian Building is a landmark skyscraper in the United States, located at 500 Griswold Street in Downtown Detroit, Michigan, within the Financial District. The Guardian is a class-A office building owned by Wayne County, Michigan and serves as its headquarters. Built in 1928 and finished in 1929, the building was originally called the Union Trust Building and is a bold example of Art Deco architecture, including art moderne designs. At the top of the Guardian Building’s spire is a large American Flag, complementing the four smaller flags atop nearby 150 West Jefferson. The building has undergone recent award-winning renovations. It was designated a National Historic Landmark on June 29, 1989, and the associated Detroit Financial District is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Leave a Reply

