read the plaques

I have a 20 minute commute to work each morning (give or take 10 minutes depending on what time I leave the house). I used to listen to music on my way in but found when I got to work each day I wasn’t in the right mindset. I realize I’m not a brain surgeon, I’m an in-house designer, but I believe that having the right mindset is important so I can do the best job I can. I had never listened to podcasts before so I thought I’d give that a try. It has been perfect. I get to listen to nerdy topics and the time frame is just right. I have listened to several different ones, and don’t play favorites, but if I was pinned down and forced to pick one, I’d say 99% Invisible by Roman Mars. Roman also hosted the AIGA Conference in New Orleans and will host it again this year in Las Vegas. (Weird random fact: I rode the elevator alone with him in New Orleans BEFORE becoming a regular listener. Dammit! I think I said something generic and stupid, hoping for a redo this year in Vegas.) If you haven’t heard it before, I recommend starting with Holdout or the Mojave Phone Booth. Those are my 2 favorites, but like I said, I don’t play favorites. Roman often says ‘read the plaque’. This has always connected with me as I not only always read the plaque, but I also always read manhole covers, fire hydrants, telephone poles, etc. If that doesn’t make me a ‘beautiful nerd’ I don’t know what does. Right?!
So, today’s post is about two plaques that I have come across, read and am now celebrating. The first one was taken in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico. Thanks to my husband for accurately translating this plaque which celebrates the Mexican Army and their hero General Don Ignacio Allende, September 1960.plaque 1What caught my eye about this plaque was the crazy compressed typography. Here’s a close up:plaque 2I love the change in size of the letters and the complete disregard for the space after the comma:plaque 3The date is September 1960 and the one I’m comparing it to in Boston is from August 1963:bridge plaque 1This plaque celebrates Patrolman James O’Leary who was killed in the line of duty. Anyone who knows me knows what pictures are coming up next:bridge plaque 2bridge plaque 3I don’t know how anyone can look at these punctuation marks and not fall in love. Read the plaques people…and while you’re at it, don’t forget about manhole covers, fire hydrants and telephone poles!

One response to “read the plaques

Leave a Reply

