amen

I’m not a religious person. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve actually ever been inside a church. However, I have always been interested in the signs outside churches and engraved on the buildings. Like gravestones, the older the better. For the most part, I can almost always predict the type of lettering on the sign out front. When I was in Denver, I came across Trinity Methodist Episcopal Church built in 1888. From a few blocks away, I could tell by the architecture it was old and beautiful. 1As I got closer, I noticed something unexpected was going on with the letters on the engraved signs at the corner of the building:2Here is a close up of the sign:3I have questions. Is this sign an example of poor planning? They spent too much space on Trinity and had to figure out how to cram the rest on there? Is there any rhyme or reason to these letters? They have such personalities I can’t help but wonder what the fuss is all about. They are so sing song-y! I just love it. I can almost hear the hymn they are humming. The overlapping letters (ligatures?) are out of control. Literally. The Tr in Trinity, the Ep in Episcopal and the grand finale, the Ch in Church. Am I the only one that thinks this union is a little, I don’t know, unholy for a church? Even the u is like, dude, not here. That perfectly shaped period at the end is right where it needs to be.4Beautiful letters on a beautiful church right in the heart of Denver, Colorado.

2 responses to “amen

  1. Nice post, Nikki. At first glance, there does appear to be a style conflict between the gothic architecture and the Art Nouveau-ish lettering. But after reading about the church’s history and the architect’s devotion to the Arts and Crafts style that was so prevalent during the era of its construction, it all kind of makes sense. It has a very William Morris kind of sensibility about it. The church has an informative history on its website here: http://www.trinityumc.org/who-we-are/our-history

Leave a Reply

