battle of the w’s

1 This post highlights 2 of my favorite W’s I have come across. When I was in Miami, I walked by what I called in my head ‘The W Theater’ because LOOK AT THAT W! When doing research, I discovered it’s called The Cameo Theater. Cameo?! There are other pictures taken from the side online where ‘CAMEO’ is on either side of the marquee. You can kind of see it in my pictures. I have no clue how I totally missed that when I was there except that I was utterly blinded by 1) the sun and 2) the W:2 3 5The W Cameo Theater was built in the art deco style by Robert E. Collins in 1936 and is a Miami Beach landmark.4Over the years, the space has seen several different incarnations. From 1986 to 1989, it was a major venue for punk and hardcore acts, with acts such as Black Flag, Sonic Youth, the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Metallica, Iggy Popp, Jane’s Addiction, the Ramones and the Dead Kennedys. During the 2000’s, it was converted to a popular nightclub, Crobar, and later Cameo. It is also home Osteria del Teatro, regarded as one of the best Italian restaurants in Miami. The streamline moderne masterpiece features a façade with a large block of glass bricks above the entrance, and a panel with a cameoin the center of stylized plants. The theater was a favorite subject of painter Davis Cone and appears several times in the book Popcorn Palaces.
In the 1960s and 70s it was regular movie theater. It was a real theater not like the new tiny ones of today. There was a neon clock on the right wall which read WTVJ channel 6. The large W in the front stood for Wometco Enterprises. Wometco was founded in 1925 as the Wolfson-Meyer Theater Company, a movie theatre chain based in Miami. Today, it is known only as the owner of the Miami Seaquarium.

This Weisco Motorcars sign is located in Denver, CO. That W literally stopped me dead in my tracks.6 7 8The Weisco doesn’t have as exciting a history as The W. They have been in business since 1992 and have moved to a new location. I now know that these pictures were taken from their old location. I’m sad to report that while this logo is still on their website, their new location has “updated” their logo to Arial Italic. Seriously?! UGH!

Leave a Reply

