AIGA New Orleans

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 6.58.26 AMThis week, I will be attending the AIGA National Design Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana. I’m looking forward to attending the talks and soaking up every ounce of inspiration that will be surrounding me. On Wednesday, the night before the conference starts, AIGA New Orleans and Dribble are hosting my talk How Culture Affects Typography. This presentation, like all my AIGA talks, is catered specifically to the city I’m speaking in. New Orleans typography will be on full display and I couldn’t be more excited. I’ll be speaking at The Little Gem Saloon (omg look at their logo:Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 7.03.49 AM*swoon*), so if you are in town, I hope to see you there!

A couple of fun facts I’ve never divulged before:

  • I have worn the same exact thing for every single one of my presentations. My 18 AIGA talks, my HOW presentation, Creative Morning, TypeCon…same outfit…every single time.
  • I still get just as nervous presenting as I did the first time. The content is easier to present but the nerves have never let up.
  • My presentation is set in the typeface Bell Centennial designed by Matthew Carter, with the exception of my intro and closing slides which are set in House Industries’ Cyberspace and 1 slide where I use Zuzana Licko’s beauty Mrs Eaves.
  • I just adopted a dog. He was surrendered by his breeder because he was ‘only attracted to the other male dogs’. So, we named him Gilbert Baker.
Leave a Reply

