TypeCon Recap

TypeCon 2015 has wrapped. I spent the last 5 days in Denver, CO immersing myself in all things typography…from letterhunting to fabulous conversations with other type lovers. It was as nerdy awesome as it sounds. In addition to attending inspirational sessions, I presented my topic How Culture Affects Typography at 11:35 on Saturday morning. This meant that I had 3 and a half days to be intimidated and freak out by the people who were in attendance. More so than any other talk I have given, this one filled me with boat loads of self doubt and angst, mainly because of the audience. Speaking about typography to a room full of graphic designers is much different than speaking about typography to a room full of typographers and type designers. But, I stuck to my plan that has served me well thus far: speak from the heart. My hope with all my talks is that my passion and love for typography will come through and transcend any nervousness/wanting to puke that I was feeling. I’m happy to report I (barely) survived the talk and no one threw any tomatoes at me (I don’t think). For some reason, when I have spoken at big engagements like this, there are people who come out of the woodwork that pull me through with their endless support, encouragement and kindness. Thank you to those who took the time to tweet, message or talk to me in the days leading up to this event. As horrific as speaking in front of a room full of my peers is, it’s these small acts of kindness that are always the most humbling for me.
I’m so grateful for the opportunities that I have been given, from the local AIGA chapters across the country that got my talks going to HOW for being the first to put me on a big stage…and now TypeCon. Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a very goal driven person, I even talk about this in my talks. I operate best when I have short term goals and long term goals set for myself. Sometimes, I have to recalibrate the long term goals based on unforseen things that happen along the way. This trip has caused me to reassess my long term goals in regards to speaking. Last week if you had asked me, I would have told you that my long term speaking goal is to travel the country visiting as many AIGA chapters as possible with my talk. That is still something I want to work towards but I am now taking this talk international. I don’t know where or when but the seed has been planted and the fire has been lit.

My head is saying “Whatttt?! wtf are you doing–NOOOOOO!”
But my heart is saying “YESSSSS!”.

I choose to follow my heart.

Is it ironic that Matthew Carter’s work always seems to be present when decisions like this get made? Nahhhh…On display this week at the TDC type gallery: Big Moore, released last April by Font Bureau designed by Matthew Carter.2This typeface is named for Isaac Moore, once the manager of Joseph Fry’s type foundry in Bristol, England. In 1766, Moore issued a type specimen under his own name. It shows a range of types that closely followed the designs of John Baskerville, which were then at the height of fashion. Over a century later, in about 1910, when Stephenson Blake cut their 48-point Fry’s Baskerville, they gave it short descenders and lining figures to make it conform to a standard alignment. But lining figures are not historically appropriate to Baskerville-like faces. As in the types of Baskerville himself and of Moore, Matthew Carter remedies this by restoring oldstyle figures and full-length descenders in this regal serif.

This g is one of the most beautiful characters I have ever seen.3I’m also very grateful to my company, Dixon Hughes Goodman. It’s an honor to work for a company that understands the value that graphic design brings to the table and is supportive of my love for typography.
CMewMpOVAAA7MsYThis all started here. My blog, posting 5 days a week about my love of typography. Thanks for being a part of this journey.

3 responses to “TypeCon Recap

  1. Pingback: TypeCon 2015 Conference Trip Report | Slanted Hall blog·

Leave a Reply

