TypeCon

Screen Shot 2015-08-10 at 8.14.35 AMI am very excited to be traveling this week to Denver, CO. TypeCon is going down in the mile high city and I can’t wait to be surrounded by other type nerds. I first attended TypeCon in New Orleans 4 years ago when I first started working at Dixon Hughes Goodman. It was the best conference I could have attended at the time as it made me realize that I could balance my love of typography with my career. I had the pleasure of attending Ed Benguiat’s talk and it was a gamechanger for me. My blog was born shortly after returning which led to speaking engagements, being featured on NPR, writing a book, and now this…one of the speakers at TypeCon this year. #omg
Speaking at the HOW Design Live conference in 2014 was a goal I had set for myself in 1998. It’s one of the biggest stages for graphic design and I was honored to bring my talk How Culture Affects Typography to the conference and speak about my crazy love of typography. Speaking at TypeCon is a whole other level. I am honored and humbled to be recognized for the work I have done and am looking forward to contributing to the program this year. Here is a sneak peek at one of my slides for my presentation on Saturday:1It is only fitting that this is part of my talk.

I am also proud to be part of the diversity committee at TypeCon this year. We will be meeting to discuss what we can do to help other women and minorities get to the podium to share their knowledge.

I’m not gonna lie, I’m a nervous wreck about presenting.
I always am.
This presentation has me especially rattled because of the audience.
I’ll be speaking from my heart though because that’s where my passion lies.

Leave a Reply

