jewels within chaos

As my life is in complete disarray (I’m moving from Ohio to North Carolina in a week), I have found comfort in the normalcy of putting these posts together. Some people ‘escape’ by shopping, skydiving or patting their cat. Typography is my escape. So, as chaos swirls around me, I’m going to pause and look at jewelry. I could care less about necklaces, rings and bracelets. My kind of jewelry are the signs that advertise the stores. I have posted about bling before so this post is an addition to that.
One of my favorite cities that I have visited has been Albuquerque, New Mexico. The combination of unique typography and colors really gives the city an identity that is unlike any other city I have visited. The city has a flag:800px-Flag_of_Albuquerque,_New_Mexico.svgThat symbol can be easily found all over the city.

Albuquerque, NM:
You can see the symbol on either side of the sign:abq 1The colors in my picture don’t do it justice. There is so much to take in with this one sign, I’ll just go ahead and start with the obvious:abq 2One of the most beautiful ampersands I have come across. The colors are so vibrant but the neon puts it over the top for me. And look at the awesome shadow! This Indian is perched perfectly over the sign:abq 3As I walked across the street to get a better shot of the Indian, I noticed that the floor was also elaborately decorated:abq 4 abq 5They were closed when I was there (hence the blue metal gate) so my hand and camera totally trespassed to snag this picture. That apostrophe, what a hottie:abq 6 Austin, TX:austin 1I spotted this sign walking around downtown Austin. It definitely has a different look and feel than the one in Albuquerque. I thought that neon ampersand looked a little bit sad but when I crossed the street to get a shot of the storefront, I understood why. Look at the & he’s trying to model after: austin 2Tampa, FL: tampa 1This sign looks like it may have been caught in a fire? Not sure but it must have been a beauty in its day!tampa 2I love that diamond! tampa 3And if diamonds are a girl’s best friend, then these guys are my besties.

One response to “jewels within chaos

Leave a Reply

