kress :: 3

I have found Kress building’s in several cities I have visited. I have posted about them here and here. I love finding them because no two are alike which is unusual for a chain. While there are distinct similarities that connects them all, there are details that make each one unique and it has been so interesting studying each building. To add to my Kress collection are the two buildings I found in Tampa, FL and the one in Charleston, SC taken by my awesome sister-in-law Kristie Rasheed.
Tampa, FL:
True story: I was in Tampa for one of my AIGA lectures and had received a picture of a Tampa marquee that I wanted to check out in person. I took a cab to the theater to take pictures and as I was walking around the building, I saw this:kress 6kress 7I had no idea a Kress building was even in Tampa so you can imagine my surprise when I looked up and saw this! You can aaaaalmost here me saying ‘OMG OMG OMG’ in the following pictures as i circled the building like a crazy person:

kress 1This building was built in 1929. In 1983 it was added to the National Register of Historic Places. kress 2 kress 3 kress 4 kress 5 kress 8 kress 9 kress 10After my talk, several people told me I had to go and check out Ybor City which was a short cab ride away from my hotel. So, the next day I was off! As I walked around, you can (again) imagine my shock when I saw this: kress 11 ybor cityThis Kress building was also built in 1929 and now houses the U.S. Customs office. kress 12 ybor city2 Kress buildings in one city?! SCORE!
Speaking of SCORE, check out the Kress building in downtown Charleston, SC that were sent to me by my sister-in-law!
Charleston, SC: kristie rasheed charleston kress 1 kristie rasheed charleston kress 2 kristie rasheed charleston kress 3Here’s some history on this building: kristie rasheed charleston kress 4Since most Kress buildings are on the National Register of Historic Places, they can’t be touched, only restored. So it’s interesting to see how they are being used today. I’m always on the hunt for these buildings so if you come across one, take pictures of it and send it to me to nikkivillagomez@gmail.com.

One response to “kress :: 3

  1. Pingback: florida theaters | culture+typography·

Leave a Reply

