boston neon

One of my favorite cities that I have visited (who am I kidding, they are all my favorite!) has been Boston. I was able to spend 5 days there this past May for the HOW Design Live Conference and I really got to experience the city. With my typography talks, I’m usually in and out of the city within 24 hours so there’s only so much I can see and do. This trip to Boston was different because I really immersed myself in the city. One thing that stuck out to me me as I walked the streets of Boston last May was how much neon was being used. Since I had only visited Boston once before (and that time was pre-typography blog), my memories of the typography of the city were about the old graves and the stone lettering above doors. Since Boston is one of the oldest cities in the country I just expected to see a lot of old type. When neon kept slapping me in the face with every turn I took, I thought it’d be interesting to document the different signs in one cohesive post.
1
2 2a 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12I always go to a city with what I think it’s going to look like and I love discovering how the reality matches up.

Leave a Reply

