WHY

Hello 2015! I’m going to start with some real talk: towards the end of 2014, I’m not gonna lie, I was really looking forward to taking a few weeks off from posting everyday. My blog is 3.5 years old. 3.5 years of posting 5 days a week about dancing letters and manhole covers. I felt like I was posting the same types of things over and over, that I wasn’t contributing to the type world (did I ever really contribute?) and that the blog had run its course. Would anyone miss it if it was gone? I left 2014 thinking:

This sucks.

What am I doing?

I should just quit.

I embraced the first few days of not posting and enjoyed the extra time it gave me. I left the country for a family vacation to Tequisquiapan, Mexico and thought, I’ll just take a break from typography.

Ha.

I tried, I really did but the typography gods must have had other plans for me because about half a day into my vaca all the self doubt and anguish I had been feeling disappeared when this wall was placed in my path:
Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 11.32.55 PM
A wall made from repurposed hand lettered signs. I instantly fell in love. It is without a doubt the most beautiful wall I have ever laid eyes on. Here is a trifecta of close ups:Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 11.33.17 PM Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 11.33.30 PM Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 11.33.42 PM
That A though. So awesome.
After staring at this wall for way too long, I thought about my blog again and realized that all of my fears were centered around validation. The common theme that I think we all feel in our work, our relationships…basically everything we do. Am I good enough? Do they like me? Did I do ok?
Coincidentally, while in Mexico, I read the book Start With Why by Simon Sinek (I highly recommend it if you haven’t read it yet). I wanted to read the book to help me with the professional work that I do but it also helped me with my blog — it reminded me WHY I started this blog 3.5 years ago. It’s simple really. I love typography. It is truly what I am passionate about. I love having a camera with me and observing type in the different cities that I visit and then posting pictures side by side on my blog. While my observations might be amateur at times, I feel like I have created a niche here. That’s what makes me really happy. Towards the end of 2014, I had lost sight of this. My WHY. This wall in Tequis (with the help of Mr. Sinek’s book) helped me refocus and readjust my thinking.

This isn’t a new year’s resolution. It’s a new mindset. I will strive to be better than I was yesterday. In my relationships, my professional work and my blog.

My competition is no longer you. It’s me.

So, with a renewed burst of energy, I will continue posting because it is what I am passionate about. Instead of posting everyday, I will be posting 3 days a week with more thoughtful posts.

To steal a line from the book: “If this book blog post inspired you, please pass it on to someone you want to inspire.

I’m looking forward to a great 2015. As always, thanks for reading!

2 responses to “WHY

  1. Great to hear that you’ll be continuing, I do read every post even if I don’t get round to commenting all the time. Keep up the good work and all good things for you and the blog in 2015!

  2. Pingback: if i were a type designer… | culture+typography·

Leave a Reply

