rule breakers

1For today’s post I’m pairing two pictures taken in Europe. Big thanks to Mårten Thavenius and Nathan Barry for sharing their pictures! I’ve never been to Europe (so sad, right?!) but these signs feel very European to me. There is nothing remotely close that I have seen to the shape of these letterforms in the United States. It’s a cardinal rule in typography to never set text in yellow (it’s too hard to read) or put yellow text on grey (hello vibrating text!) but somehow the sign in the Czech Republic works! I love the geometric shape of the letters above the rounded windows. What a rule breaker! Something about these letters reminded me of the signs that Nathan took in Lucca. That R kills me. Here’s another picture taken in Lucca:2Another beautiful sign with yellow letters, another beautiful rule breaker.

Leave a Reply

