throwback thursday: letters peeling away

This post was originally published on August 7, 2012:

These signs are yet another example of why I love what weather does to typography. Both of these signs would be relatively boring if weather hadn’t been a factor. The  sign just makes me laugh. Maybe this furniture repair and restoration shop needs to focus on repairing/restoring their sign? I’m loving the letters but what does it say about the kind of work they do? Here’s a close up of the other side of the sign:1

Look at the S! These letters are making a run for it! I thought this sign made an interesting comparison to the Lumber sign in Peninsula. That’s my little guy there trying to figure out what I’m taking a picture of. Too bad he’s looking at the wrong thing (look up Kai!). Anyway, I’m totally digging these letters. Here’s a close up:

It’s interesting how these letters aren’t just peeling away, they are taking the surrounding paint too. I love the ampersand, it’s like he’s waving “hi!”.

*waves back*

Leave a Reply

