I ♥ NY

I am going to keep my blog in NYC today.
I was able to go back with my family 3 years ago and visit the city that has left a permanent scar in our hearts. One of the things we wanted to do was go to the top of the Empire State Building. As we entered the building, this is what we saw (we were there around Thanksgiving, hence the Christmas decorations):
1

As we stood in the 1.5 hour line (!), this is one of the posters along the way that we passed:
2

The observation deck is marked on the four sides letting you know which direction you are facing. Of course, I wanted to face South:
3

My daughter fell asleep in the line so she missed out on the whole thing (boo), my son was able to stay awake (shocker!). He loved New York and all the beautiful buildings:
4

5

6

7
8

If you look carefully towards the bottom of this picture, you can see the Flat Iron Building and off in the distance, you can see the construction of One World Trade Center:
9
Another shot of the construction and the Statue of Liberty:
10

This is a shot taken from a few blocks away:
11

220px-I_Love_New_York.svg
The I ♥ NY logo was designed by Milton Glaser in 1977 to promote tourism in New York City, and later to promote New York State as well. The trademarked logo, owned by New York State Empire State Development, appears in souvenir shops and brochures throughout the state. In response to 9/11, Milton Glaser designed this poster:
milton-16279-93
Note the black mark on the heart to signify the injury of the attacks. This poster was published October 8, 2001. We saw this poster plastered all over the city and it was such a powerful message that conveyed what we were all feeling.

2 responses to “I ♥ NY

Leave a Reply

