bakery

1 Today’s post is a rare in-state comparison. I try to keep my pairings to pictures taken from different parts of the country or world but today I’m revolting. When I was in San Antonio, I kept hearing about the Cinderella Bakery. A picture of the sign was sent in for my presentation so, prior to my trip, I tried to find out some history but came up short. When the picture of the sign went up during my presentation, I heard a small gasp from a few people, like they had just seen holiness. I said that I couldn’t find much history about this bakery. Attendees shouted out things like ‘IT’S THE BEST BAKERY EVER!’ and ‘OMG SOOOO GOOD YOU HAVE TO GO THERE!’ In my head I’m thinking ‘yeah yeah, it can’t be the BEST bakery ever but I get it’. This beloved jewel is located on the outskirts of the city. I was lucky enough to go there and it’s true. IT’S THE BEST BAKERY EVER and OMG SOOOO GOOD! Not even joking. If you are in San Antonio, GO!
I love how the letters in Cinderella look like they are decorated with icing. It looks like the K in Bakery has kicked that tire/donut with it’s leg in an effort to try to knock down that beautiful cake. What a jokster!
When I was in Austin, I spent several hours the day after my talk walking around the city. Most of my time was spent on SoCo (South Congress) checking out the beautiful murals, the amazing amount of food trucks and neon signs. One of my favorite finds from SoCo is this tiled bakery sign located at the entrance of an abandoned store. As you can see in the picture above, there was a girl playing music for money. Since she wasn’t exactly ‘with it’, I didn’t have the heart to tell her to move so I could take the picture so I did the best I could. Here’s a detailed shot of a couple of the letters:
2What I love about this pairing is how the same word is handled in completely different ways but both are uniquely successful. See any awesome bakery signs in your city? Take a picture and tweet it to me @nikki_vz to be featured in an upcoming post!

2 responses to “bakery

Leave a Reply

