Manhole Monday: ships and rivers

1 Happy Manhole Monday! I am happy to be sitting at my desk putting this post together after a whirlwind couple of days. Speaking to two chapters back to back was such a thrilling and rewarding experience. I am always amazed by the energy level and commitment each AIGA chapter has to our profession. I’m very proud to be a member of AIGA. I flew into Tampa a few hours before I spoke and had the opportunity to walk around the downtown area (omg it’s so hot there). One of my favorite pictures that I took was this manhole cover. They are all over the city. In the middle of sidewalks, streets (I may or may not have gotten honked at taking this picture), and back alleys. Here’s a close up shot of the ship:
2
Such a beautiful illustration. It’s easy to forget that this is a manhole cover and that something so utilitarian can be so beautiful! It looks like an illustration from a valuable coin.
That ship is on the city seal:
270px-Seal_of_Tampa,_Florida.svgThe manhole cover from Cincinnati has the letters: MSDGC. This stands for The Metropolitan Sewer District of Greater Cincinnati. The illustration on this cover is not the city seal but an illustration of the Ohio River which cuts through the city. The beauty of manhole covers never ceases to amaze me.

Leave a Reply

