graffitiweek: banksy

It’s graffitiweek! An entire week devoted to pictures of street art that I have collected or that has been sent my way. In preparation of this week, I bought the movie Exit Through The Gift Shop which is a film about the inside story of street art. It follows an eccentric shop-keeper turned amateur film-maker, Thierry Guetta (aka Mr. Brainwash), as he attempts to capture many of the world’s most infamous vandals on camera, only to have a British stencil artist named Banksy turn the camcorder back on its owner with wildly unexpected results (shout out to my husband for watching this with me!). This was an interesting movie that I’m still processing. I have started to research the theories behind it and am intrigued. I highly recommend this film if you haven’t seen it yet.

I have so much respect for graffiti and I enjoy researching the different artists and their styles. That being said, there is something about stencils that just gets me. I just love the simplistic shapes that give away just enough information. In my opinion, no one does it better than Banksy. I have only posted one time about his work but had never seen anything of his in person…until my trip to Miami. My friend Margaret Gonzalez was in the midst of giving me an amazing tour of the city and about half way through the day she said “You know there is a Banksy in Miami, right?!” I think my reply was something like “Ummmmm, noOOOOOOOOOOOOtakemetherenow!!!!!!!!” Thanks MG (aka Cakes) for hanging with me as I (literally) freaked the hell out. As we got closer, I could feel my hands getting sweaty which is so stupid but I was so excited to see his artwork in person.
This is located next to the entrance of the Goodwill store in the Little Havana neighborhood. I guess you know you’ve made it as a street artist when they cover your work with plexiglass to protect it! Here is my haul from my Banksy encounter:
1
2 3 4 5Startin’ the week off in style, yo!

One response to “graffitiweek: banksy

  1. Pingback: graffitiweek: squared | culture+typography·

Leave a Reply

