w is for wow

1Today’s post are two motels that I have come across that stopped me dead in my tracks. Both of these fulfilled that “wow factor” that I look for when I am letterhunting. When I was in Albuquerque, I spent a lot of time strolling up and down Central Ave., which is also more famously referred to as Route 66. Motel Hiway House was taken in the Nob Hill neighborhood which is a nice area of restaurants and shops right past the University of New Mexico. In addition to this sign being one of the most beautiful I have ever seen, it is in remarkable condition. Sadly, I can’t say the same thing about the sign from Sioux Falls. It is completely falling apart. It is important to note that neither of these signs are ghost signs, both motel’s are open and ready for your business. I think it’s interesting to compare the landscape around the signs as well. They couldn’t be in more different surroundings. Here is a side by side close up of the lettering on both signs:

2This illustration kills me. Between the car, his handlebar moustache and her “figure”, I can almost hear the music playing in the background :3If you ever wanted to know what a 3D ® looks like, here you go:4One of the many luxury’s that comes with your night at the motel? A color TV!5I love the 4 colored lightbulbs under this sign (only 2 in place when I took this picture).
Without a doubt the most beautiful w I have ever seen:6In stark contrast is the beautiful, yet falling apart sign from Sioux Falls. Here’s a couple of detailed shots:7 8This was taken on the outside of the building right next to the office. It’s safe to say I feared for my life.9See any beautiful signs in your city? Take a picture and tweet them to me @nikki_vz or email me at nikkivillagomez@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

