Tempe ghost sign

I was in Phoenix a few weeks ago for a business trip and my co-workers and I went into Tempe for dinner. This is always a dangerous scenario for me because my co-workers are healthcare consultants and when I’m “out in the wild” in a new city, I turn into a type-freak. I’ve got my camera in hand and always on the look out for city specific typography. We were stopped at a stop light and this building was staring me in the face:

1My co-worker was nice enough to slow down and get honked at while I reached out the window to grab these pics:2Hayden Flour Mill has transitioned from a boarded-up relic to a public gathering place where Tempe’s history is honored. The city opened the grounds where the iconic Valley landmark stands at the gateway to downtown Tempe a couple of years ago. Visitors can walk the grounds and peer into the mill building for a peek at historical elements from the Industrial Age.

History:
Charles Trumbull Hayden, a pioneer merchant, town and father of the late U.S. Sen. Carl Hayden, began construction of the original Hayden Flour Mill in 1872, completing the structure at the base of Tempe Butte on the southeastern corner of Mill Avenue and Rio Salado Parkway in May 1874.

Full article here.

It’s the weekend, and I’m feeling the need for #graffitiweek! Next week will be an entire week devoted to street art. Game on!

 

Leave a Reply

