greyhound

1Greyhound bus stops have never really grabbed my attention. They are kind of like McDonald’s, they look the same from city to city.  They’ve been around forever, they serve a very specific purpose, they are just there. I remember driving past the one in Cleveland and doing a complete double take. I had never seen one like this before. The concrete structure, the clock, the neon letters and the famous greyhound logo all put together in a very pleasing way and it totally fits in downtown Cleveland. Here are a couple of close ups:2 3I thought “wow, that’s neat”, snapped some pictures and went on my way. That was 3 years ago. It wasn’t until last month that my Cleveland Greyhound pictures found their match. Or should I say mismatch. When I was in Albuquerque, I walked pass their Greyhound station which is firmly planted right in the middle of downtown, as it should be. Look at it!4You put a structure like that in the middle of downtown Cleveland and it will look absolutely ridiculous. In downtown Albuquerque, it fits in perfectly. The lettering style is also a very interesting choice:5 6In Cleveland, there is no mention of the city, just the logo and Greyhound set in neon. In Albuquerque, they are relying on the logo and the city name. As I walked around the building, I came across another entrance:7It is so beautiful to see how something like a Greyhound bus station can be positively impacted by the culture of the city it is in.
Is there an interesting Greyhound station in your city? Take a picture and tweet it to me @nikki_vz to be featured in an upcoming post.

Leave a Reply

