electric cock

One of my favorite finds from my trip to Austin, Texas was the amount of taco trucks I came across. I couldn’t believe how many there were. In addition to being on almost every street corner, there were also parking lots full of them. Not only were they camped out, they had tricked out signs letting people know what they sold. I saw signs on top of trucks advertising everything from cupcakes to shoes. Without a doubt, my favorite find was Ms P’s Electric Cock:
2
This is painted on the wooden fence that hides the garbage next to the taco truck:
1
This is a 2nd truck that was parked nearby:
8As you can see in the first picture, the lights in the letters are off. I took the picture from across the street. As I crossed the street, the owner came out and asked what he could make for me. I told him that I’m vegetarian but I loved his signs. He smiled and said the least he could do was turn the lights on for me:3I almost hugged him (almost). This is a close up of their menu:4Their badass call-in sign:5There are some kerning issues with that sign but I just love it. This is letting people know they are open for breakfast too:6…and of course the beautiful neon:
7Chicken never looked so good!

It’s the weekend! Back at it on Monday!

3 responses to “electric cock

  1. Pingback: taco truck typography | culture+typography·

Leave a Reply

