Manhole Monday: water

2It’s Monday! My one day of the week to highlight Manhole Covers. These covers are my current obsession and it thrills me when other people send me pictures that they have come across. Today’s post are two water covers from two different cities that have been sent in to me. Big thanks to Danielle Chavarria and Jim Slagle for sharing their pictures. The cover from Charleston has the palm tree illustration that is on the state flag. I’ve never seen a cover where the design is split in half like this. In stark contrast is the cover in St. Louis. For some reason, all of the covers that I have seen from St. Louis have this big chunky lettering as you can see here and here for other examples. I haven’t come across letters like this on manhole covers in any other city {yet}. Two water meter covers. Two very different designs. Both equally beautiful.

Leave a Reply

