Manhole Monday: tricked out

So, I was in Miami, FL Friday and Saturday for my talk with the AIGA chapter there. If I could sum up the whole experience in one word, it’d be: WOW! All caps, bold, underline, exclamation point and red (a nod to all the neon there)…if only WordPress had a yellow starburst I could put around that word (ok, that is a joke, calm down). I don’t take these trips for granted and am so fortunate to be able to visit such amazing cities. Being thrust into a new environment for a little over 24 hours is like a spiritual awakening for me. That sounds dramatic but that’s the only way I know how to describe it. I drove to the Cleveland airport with a -3°F temperature outside and landed a few hours later in an 82°F Miami. Hello sunshine! In addition to the drastic change in weather, the city of Miami is so different than any other city I have been to. I am so excited to start using the 400+ (what.) pictures that I took there. What better way to get things started than a tricked out manhole cover?! This cover was sent in to me for my presentation and I was so excited to use it. So, when I found it in person in the middle of the road, I literally had to stop traffic to take this picture (little did I know, I’d find it on sidewalks later on). If you look at this picture and hear cars honking, you’ll know why. Freakin’ jackpot:
1
About Art In Public Places (via their website): Miami-Dade County Art in Public Places, a program of the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs, serves the community through the implementation of art installations dedicated to enriching the public environment and to preserving and enhancing the artistic and civic pride of Miami-Dade County. Miami-Dade Art in Public Places promotes collaboration and creative art projects that improve the visual quality of public spaces. These public art installations transform public spaces from ordinary civic areas to sites that can lift the spirit and connect with the community.

One of the first public art programs in the country, Miami-Dade Art in Public Places was established in 1973 with the passage of an ordinance allocating 1.5% of construction cost of new county buildings for the purchase or commission of artworks. Art in Public Places is overseen by a citizens’ Trust appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. The Trust receives recommendations on acquisitions and commissions from the Professional Advisory Committee, an independent group of professionals in the field of art, art history, public art, architecture, landscape architecture and architectural history.

Leave a Reply

