graffitiweek: cities

1#graffitiweek marches on into Wednesday with these two back alley finds. Some of my favorite pictures have been found in the least expected places. A good reminder to always be on the look out for interesting typography no matter where you are. It’s no secret that anything that is specific to a city is like solid gold to me. Some people like to visit new cities and go shopping or catch a show. I like to wander into back alley’s and take pictures of trashcan’s with graffiti. I think this is perfectly normal and makes me very happy. I love the colors and the style of the letters. While I was walking around the Cary Town area of Richmond, I came across this RVA, the initials of the city and state, in the back of a parking lot.  I thought it was pretty interesting. Then, I saw it everywhere.

 This is the top corner of a building:

2This is the back of a store:

3It was like a little tattoo on the city. A branding that won’t be found anywhere else.

Next time you are walking around your city, take a different route. To quote Robert Frost, one of my favorite poets (poetry?! graffiti?! wha?!), this excerpt from The Road Not Taken:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

I took the one less traveled. Story of my freakin’ life.
For real.
Anyway.
In this instance, I got some pretty killer graffiti out of it. What will you find?

Leave a Reply

