The Big Q

When I first moved to Ohio from South Carolina 3 years ago, this is one of the first buildings I came across:
1
The whole typographic landscape of Cleveland really appeals to me because of buildings like this. It breaks my heart that this building (and so many like it) sit abandoned but the type nut inside of me loves it. I think the hand lettering paired with the illustration and the crazy ivy growing all over it makes for a fascinating visual. I knew I’d feature this as one of my 1ne posts but I only took this one picture. I wanted to come back to take more detailed shots. Fast forward 3 years (why did it take me that long?!) and I made it a point to drive into Cleveland to take more pictures of The Big Q. This is basically what Cleveland looks like this time of year:
2 3Here are a couple of detailed shots of the upper right side:4 5Look at that E! I’m so in love. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Next week will be #graffitiweek — an entire week’s worth of posts dedicated to street art! If you come across any graffiti in your city, take a picture and tweet it to me @nikki_vz to be featured in an upcoming post!

Leave a Reply

