second look

Today’s post is proof that every sign needs a second look. When I was in Fredericksburg, I passed by J. Brian’s Tap Room and took one look at the black awning and said ‘no.”:
1
“No.”:
2But then I saw this mounted to the brick right by the door as I was busy saying “No.”:

3I thought that was interesting so I walked up the steps to get a picture of the plaque and saw this mounted to the bottom (?) of the door:4So I looked at the door and saw this:5I loved the letters on the glass and was trying to figure out where they came from. They were such a departure from the type on the awning. I looked back up at the sign and saw this:
6“YES.” How did I miss this before?! Love the type. Love the apostrophe. Love the illustrations.7 “Yesssssss.”

It’s the weekend. Back at it on {Manhole} Monday!

Leave a Reply

