Throwback Thursday: why does the apostrophe always get the short end of the stick?

One of my favorite posts to date. Originally published on October 26, 2011:

*sigh

Anyone who knows me knows one of my BIGGEST  pet peeves is an image standing in place of a letter. It just doesn’t work. I think it’s dumb. There. I said it.

I passed by this restaurant Cajun Dave’s in Kent a few weekends ago and that poor pepper is so jacked up to try and look like a J, it almost looks like a J! I thought, wow! I’m almost not pissed! Then I took one look at how that poor excuse of an apostrophe is suffering and my almost not pissed quickly faded. I snapped the dumb photo and went on my way shaking my head. I guess it could be worse. They could have used the pepper as the apostrophe. Ugh.

Moving on.

Perfect example of what’s wrong with image/type merging. I’m hesitant to even say ‘image’. What the hell is that?! I mean, I know it’s a tree but dang, that’s one ugly tree. It’s so ugly, the apostrophe had to turn the other way!

Leave a Reply

