ghost building

I’ve mentioned before that the morning after I have a speaking engagement, I wake up super early and go walking around to take in as much of the city I’m visiting as possible before I catch my flight home. As much as I love putting together presentations and meeting new people, I love the time in the mornings getting to know the city. When I was in San Antonio, I was up at the crack of dawn, literally. You can see the sun still rising in these pictures. I was about an hour in before stumbling across this gem. Ghost signs on top of ghost signs cover the sides of this building in San Antonio:
1
2
3
4I sure wish that banner wasn’t there:
5
6From what I was able to find out, Willy Schuler and George E. Notz opened a sign painting business in the 20’s. In addition to painting on sides of buildings, they also specialized in gold leaf work. Willy died in 1988, George died in 1972. I feel extremely fortunate that I was able to find this work of theirs and document it:
7
8
9It’s the weekend! Back at it on Monday!

2 responses to “ghost building

Leave a Reply

