bay bridge

While I was on a lunch break during the HOW conference earlier this year, I went walking. I’m usually in some kind of typographic stupor when I’m walking around a new city alone with a camera in my hand. I realized this was the case when I turned a corner and saw water and then this:

1This view was so breathtaking I literally had no words. Here’s what I saw:
2
3
4
5
6
7
8I couldn’t have a post without SOME typography, right?!

In doing some research, I found out (via Wikipedia):

The Bay Bridge is a complex of bridges spanning San Francisco Bay. It is the direct road route between San Francisco and Oakland and carries approximately 240,000 vehicles per day on its two decks. It has one of the longest spans in the world. Construction began in 1933 and was designed by Charles H. Purcell and built by American Bridge Company. It opened for traffic on November 12, 1936, six months before the Golden Gate Bridge. The Bay Bridge is currently the world’s widest bridge, according to Guinness World Records.

It’s the weekend! Happy to NOT be running a half marathon this weekend. Back at it on Monday.

Leave a Reply

