concrete stamp

1I’m always on the lookout for ‘raw’ typography. I love when letters have been affected by the elements or have been handled in a way where there is little control over the outcome. I think that makes for really interesting letterforms. Today’s post are two pictures that I have taken where letters (and illustrations!) have been imprinted into concrete. I’m sure the stamp that made these looked perfect but throw in weathering for a few years and this is what you get. I found the H in that shield all over concrete posts in downtown Orlando and the cherokee stamp in sidewalks all over downtown Syracuse.
This was also found as a different type of marker embedded in the concrete in Syracuse:
2And this one was found in downtown San Antonio:

1See any concrete stamps in your area? Take a picture and tweet them to me @nikki_vz to be featured in an upcoming post!

Leave a Reply

