graffitiweek: beautifully bossy

I have been feeling the urge to have another #graffitiweek lately but I kept putting it off, mainly because I have seen such amazing typography in the cities I have traveled to for my speaking engagements. It has been so interesting to highlight how culture influences typographic choices, especially after experiencing these cities first hand. However, over the weekend I saw a tweet from Hoefler & Frere-Jones (if you don’t know who they are, please go slap yourself in the face follow them) with a picture taken at a construction site in New York City. I did a silent ‘ohmygodthatisfreakingawesome’ and then asked for permission to use their picture. When I got the green light from them (thank you @H_FJ !), I knew that #graffitweek was on. So, here we go!

No one likes being told what to do or seeing signs put forth by ‘management’ bossing people around. But when the typography is as beautiful as this, the bossiness isn’t so hard to take. See for yourself:

Hoefler & Frere-Jones

New York City
Hoefler & Frere-Jones

Here’s one that I took in NYC while there a couple of years ago:
2While in Fredericksburg, Virginia last month, I came across this gem:
3I had to stand there for a minute so my mind could process everything that is going on here. First, that crazy neon sign in the top right window. That y needs to calm down. He’s a little *too* excited. Even the apostrophe and s are like ‘woah, easy there buddy’:
6No Trespassing. The decorative elements and the triple underline (ok, we get it!) is so much more fun to look at than just a generic sign mounted to the wall:
4Someone had fun painting this…maybe a little too much fun:
5What a save, right? That S is killer.

See any awesome street art or typography that is specific to your city? Take a picture and tweet it to me @nikki_vz to be featured in an upcoming post.

Leave a Reply

