tile typography

pairI love finding tile type set in the floor. I have such respect for the amount of detail, time and energy that goes into this style of advertising. More often than not, it’s a ghost sign because it no longer advertises the business that is just beyond the doors. I was in Nashville, TN this past week on a business trip but was able to walk around for about an hour. I walked past this restaurant and the tile typography totally caught my eye. It seems they did the best they could with trying to salvage it. The U‘s in furniture reminded me of the U‘s in the tile work from San Antonio. The San Antonio Paint & Varnish Co. is now a Mexican restaurant:
1
2I just can’t get past how beautiful this is:
3As if this wasn’t going to happen:
4If that ampersand doesn’t put a smile on your face, I’m not sure what will.

Leave a Reply

