dutch pantry

It always amazes me what I stumble upon when I least expect it. I will be the first to admit that I have been very fortunate the last several months with the amount of travel I have been able to do for my speaking engagements. I have visited awesome cities so I knew I would find some great typography. However, when driving from Ohio to South Carolina (9.5 hours) with 2 kids (ages 6 and 5) in the back seat, I know my chances of spotting typography and being able to photograph it aren’t great. My goal is to just get from point A to point B with the least amount of screaming and crying as possible. Type be damned! <not really, but kinda.> We were driving back to Ohio in January after the Christmas holiday and stopped for gas somewhere in West Virgina. We had about 2 hours left til we were home which means we were all DONE at this point. As we pulled off the exit, we drove by this:
somewhere in w va dutch pantry restaurant 1
In my exhausted, please get me the hell home state, my immense love for typography kicked in and would not let me get by this one without whipping out my camera. It’s like I’m ALMOST in Holland. ALMOST. I have never seen a sign like this one before, I felt like I won the lottery (the husband and kids, not so much). Here’s a close up of that tricked out R:somewhere in w va dutch pantry restaurant 2
I can’t look at that R without hearing a swoosh sound. Man, what a beauty. Looks like he belongs in Disney World! See any awesome signs in your city? Take a picture and tweet it to me @nikki_vz to be featured in an upcoming post.
Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

