manhole monday: squares

pairManhole Monday in full effect!

I feel like with every trip I go on, new life gets breathed into my blog. I’m really forced to look at my surroundings in a new way. The trips I take for my speaking engagements are quick (I’m gone for 1 night) so I make the most of the time that I have and really take in all the typography around me. From beginning (literally, in the airport) to end, I’m in full blown typography mode (it’s as awesome as it sounds). It’s all consuming and I love it. I’ve got my iPhone in one hand and my camera in the other documenting typographic goodness.

I had the amazing opportunity to travel to San Antonio, Texas last week and was (once again) blown away at how their cultural influences affect the typographic choices that are made. There was a large amount of beautifully hand crafted lettering on the sides of buildings and signs and an equally large amount of businesses named for the Alamo. Like, everything. Even the manhole covers!

My favorite thing about this pairing is that you won’t see either of these manhole covers anywhere else in the world except for the city they are located in. I love that the bottom of the manhole from Cleveland says Cleveland O. No punctuation. No H after the O. It’s just Cleveland O. Obviously the name Alamo Iron Works caught my eye since it is specific to San Antonio but also the beautiful square pattern. I thought it was interesting that these two covers located in two very different cities shared the squares.

San Antonio definitely has a vibe and I tried to capture it in the (several hundred) pictures I took. I’m really looking forward to using them in upcoming posts.
As always, tweet me pictures @nikki_vz that you come across that are specific to your typographic landscape and I’ll use ’em!

2 responses to “manhole monday: squares

  1. Hi Nikki,
    I enjoyed your presentation at the Woodlawn Theater here in San Antonio last week. it had never occurred to me in the past to think of how typography varies from place to place, and how unique it is in certain regions. I loved seeing the hand painted signage in your in-laws’ town in Mexico, and seeing the comparison to much of the signage in San Antonio (a city steeped in Mexican culture). Thanks for sharing your experiences with us and I’ll continue to drop in on your blog for an occasional dose of type-related enlightenment.
    Thanks,
    Chris

Leave a Reply

