concrete letters


Today’s post is a fun comparison. I lived in Columbia, SC (my home state) for 9 years before moving to the Cleveland area. The comparison of these two pictures side by side is how I felt when we first moved here in the dead of winter. We left the blue skies and lush landscape of South Carolina and moved to the once booming industrial (and freakin’ cold!) city of Cleveland. Having lived here for almost 2 years now, I can honestly say Cleveland is easily one of my favorite cities I have been to. It has so much to offer and I love that there are 4 true seasons here. In South Carolina, especially Columbia, the 4 seasons can be defined as warm, warmer, hot, and famously hot.

I remember when I took this picture that I loved that it said Columbia, the city that felt so far away. I had never seen concrete letters like this. This is an abandoned building in downtown Cleveland. Here are a couple of close ups:



When I went back to Columbia a couple of months ago, I was walking around the 5 points (hey look! I designed that logo!) area of Columbia and was once again disappointed in myself. How in the world did I live here for 9 years and never see Claussen’s. I saw it often but never SAW it. It took me leaving for a couple of years and coming back with fresh eyes to really see it. This building was built in 1928 as a bakery and is now used as an inn. Here are a couple of close ups:
I love the difference in typographic styles between the two images. Look at the apostrophe!
Such personality!
Their branding now:

See any unique type in your city? Take a picture and tweet it to me @nikki_vz and I’ll feature it in an upcoming post!

3 responses to “concrete letters

  1. Pingback: numbers from the 30′s | culture+typography·

Leave a Reply

