The Manhole Project: g thang

Today is another addition from The Manhole Project and today’s pairing is one of my favorites. They aren’t technically manholes but they do fall into that ‘utilitarian’ category so I’m going with it. When my friend Kelly Luckett was in Spain a few months ago she sent me a bunch of awesome pictures, but this natural gas cover was my favorite. I love the size contrast of the words and the way they are placed around each other. Such beautiful typography and design for something that is so easily overlooked (and stepped on!). I’m also crushing on that g, it’s totally the star of the show.

When I was in Columbia a few weeks ago, I noticed this awesome gas cover on the ground in 5 points. The color first caught my eye and the more I looked at it, the more I loved it. It’s really hard for me to look at something like this and not get super excited. I think it’s just awesome.


To quote Dr. Dre:

Ain’t nothin’ but a G thang, baby!

Whatup, 1992!

(This song was in my head while I was writing this post.)

One response to “The Manhole Project: g thang

Leave a Reply

