ghost signs from a hotel & condo

I realized over the weekend I haven’t posted about ghost signs in a while. So, I went through my pictures and thought these 2 made a striking pair. A hotel and a condo building! The picture taken in Pittsburgh is the Roosevelt Hotel which opened in 1927 — five years before the election of Franklin D. Roosevelt. Approaching this building, on foot or in a car, you can’t help but notice the beautiful letters. Here are some close ups:


Look at the R! What an attitude:!
Here are some close ups of the picture taken in Cleveland:
This building is now luxury condo’s called The Fries and Schuele Building:
I’d live in this building based on this R alone:





If you are a lover of ghost signs, I recommend checking out my buddy Sam Roberts‘ site and follow him on twitter @ghostsigns for the latest finds from around the world. It’s a great resource.

Leave a Reply

