graves

So, not to be morbid or anything but I love graves. The older the better. I have been to several cemeteries over the years and I’m always amazed at what people choose to have as their lasting words on their tombstone. There is a cemetery near where I live. We’ve lived here for a year and a half and I’ve yet to pay it a visit so I decided to go this past weekend. I was happy to see that a lot of the graves were from the 1800’s, which are always interesting but this one pictured below was the most bazaar. I have never seen one like this. The mother is on the left, the father is on the right and their 2 kids are in the middle. Pretty typical for a family to be buried together like this but the MOTHER OF and FATHER OF with the manicule is pretty interesting. Based on the dates, it seems the mother and 2 kids died the same year, possibly the same day and the dad died several years later. So he saw the layout of this prior to his burial. So heartbreaking.

There was obviously plenty of room to list out the children’s names on the headstone. Obviously he thought pointing would be a better option. And look at that hand! That finger!! wtf?! <no judgement>

Equally bazaar is this picture taken by Jonathan Barnbrook. He said that is not a bird’s business on the grave but paint. PAINT. What?! Why would someone want paint dripping down their grave?! <no judgement>I love the stark contrast of the 2 headstones in this picture. The paint dripping down on top of what appears to be a small novel engraved into the stone next to a very simple headstone that seems very traditional and modest. I wonder if they knew each other? What were their stories? I’m always left wondering what once was, only knowing what the letters reveal.

Leave a Reply

