graffitiweek: the holy grail

Graffiti ultimately wins out over proper art because it becomes part of your city, it’ s a tool; “I’ll meet you in that pub, you know, the one opposite that wall with a picture of a monkey holding a chainsaw”. I mean, how much more useful can a painting be than that?
― Banksy, Banging Your Head Against a Brick Wall

It’s no surprise that I had to end my first #graffitiweek with a Banksy. I was hoping to obtain a picture from some kind soul out there since I have little hope of seeing a Banksy in person here in Ohio. I came across this image and sent a tweet out to @bgtennisnation and crossed my fingers.

personal note: I’ve played tennis since the age of 10. I was fortunate enough to receive a college scholarship all four years that I played for LSU (geaux tigers!). I was in a state of shock when I realized I had just tweeted to Brad Gilbert about using his Banksy picture on my typography blog. Nothing like my two worlds colliding!

He tweeted me back to credit @mrsgnation. Score! Big thanks to Brad Gilbert, his wife Kim and their dog Hurricane Walt (aww) for sharing their picture taken in Park City, UT. I have never seen one with a frame around it. I could go on and on about this picture but I think my words would just muck it up. I’ll just let the picture speak for itself.

My first blog post was on July 22, 2011. So I have officially made it one year. I made a promise to myself when I started the blog that I would post 5 days a week, without missing a day (except for holidays). I would continue to post as long as it was fun and I looked forward to it. The second it became dull or a burden, I’d pull the plug.
Here it is 1 year later and still going strong. I have found great inspiration from this project, especially since I’ve started receiving pictures from all around the world. It has become so much fun and is such a passion of mine. My goal from the beginning was to bring awareness to how culture affects typography. This still remains my goal.

For the love of typography.

As always, tweet me @nikki_vz any pics you stumble across as you are going about your day. Happy weekend!

One response to “graffitiweek: the holy grail

  1. Pingback: graffitiweek: banksy | culture+typography·

Leave a Reply

