hats & diamonds

How fantastic are these signs? A Richmond designer had sent in a picture of the Gigi Hats sign for my talk in Richmond and I just loved it. I was so happy when I came across it in person as I was walking around the city the next day. Here’s a close up:
I love how it says BIG HATS down the side of the sign. They didn’t just sell hats, they sold BIG HATS! Sadly, Gigi Hats is now Chic Chapeau as you can see by the giant step backwards they have taken in their new sign. Booo!
When I saw this sign, I immediately thought of my picture of the Diamond Grille in downtown Akron. I think they make such a great comparison. The g‘s look like long lost cousin’s. I love the colors and rust in both of the signs. Here’s a close up of the Diamond Grille:
Leave a Reply

