steel type

I have become more and more fascinated lately with type that’s part of steel poles, manhole covers, fire hydrants, etc. I get really awesome looks from random people watching me inspect the type, but that’s ok. It’s reassuring to know I’m not the only one out there that finds these little gems beautiful. Big thanks to Jordan Romanoff for sharing this picture he snapped in Hollywood. I love the wear and tear the letters have taken. I think it’s beautiful.

Speaking of beautiful, this was at the base of a pole I found in Soho (ok, that sounds bad, not that kind of pole!). I literally had to get on the ground to snap this pic but if you ask me, so so worth it. That ampersand alone, what a lady.

It’s amazing the beauty that is found in the unexpected.

Leave a Reply

