concrete typography

Concrete typography? Yes please!

When I was in NYC last fall, my husband and I debated if we should walk by the Freedom Tower (NYC’s tallest building as of yesterday). It was such a tough call for us since we were there, right across the street, when the 2nd plane hit. We decided it might be good for us to see the construction of the new building, visit the museum and pay our respects. It was very tough but I’m glad we did it. As I was walking towards the construction site, I saw this concrete block sitting on the street corner. I just love it. I don’t really know what else to say about it, I just think it’s awesome.

When Nick Reed submitted this photo taken in Berlin for #FontSunday, I immediately thought of my NYPD concrete block picture. Thanks Nick for sharing your picture! Nick’s picture is one of the remnants of Anhalter Bahnhof, a former railway terminal. This concrete sign is next to the bridge approaching the station. I just love the power and protection both pictures exude. I have no doubt the NYPD was stenciled on that concrete block in less than 20 seconds without much thought. In contrast, I have no doubt the Berlin sign took a lot of time to plan out and construct. Yet both, in my opinion, are equally beautiful.

 

Leave a Reply

