#s on buildings

When I travel to conferences, I try real hard to visit different landmarks in the cities I’m in. When I was in Boston, I really wanted to visit the MIT campus for 2 reasons. 1) I was hoping by being in the presence of really smart people, I’d get some increased brain cells to help my math deficiency (didn’t work) and 2) I really wanted to visit the Ray and Maria Stata Center designed by Architect Frank Gehry. If you aren’t familiar with this building, take a look: http://www.eecs.mit.edu/stata-link.html Beyond amazing. It’s MIT’s Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science which makes me being there even more hilarious. So, I’m walking through this building with my husband’s eyes so I can tell him all about the architecture. You can imagine my shock when I saw the ginormous numbers above the doors marking each room throughout the building. White type on top of yellow is such a no-no in my profession but look how great this looks and no one can say ‘I couldn’t find my classroom!’

In complete contrast to the architectural gem in Boston, take a look at this vacant building in Cleveland. This building is nothing special but the typography sure is. The hand painted phone number on the yellow background is very easy to read, even though it has faded over time. The area code above it in white, not so much. Such a stark contrast to the classroom numbers at MIT. I love the E, it looks like it’s trying to make a run for it and the other letters will soon follow. Check out that yellow asterisk on the blue paint! And the aaaaalmost Ellipsis. Sooooooo close. Just.one.more.period. ugh, so close.

One response to “#s on buildings

  1. Pingback: i question the apostrophe « culture+typography·

Leave a Reply

