Grave to Grave

Here I go waving my freak flag…I love cemeteries. They don’t give me the creeps (unless it’s the middle of the night) and the older the cemetery the better. I think the carving in the headstones are breathtakingly beautiful. 2 of the best cemeteries I’ve been able to visit have been in Boston and New Orleans. In the Boston cemetery where this photo was taken, the big tourist draw is to see Benjamin Franklin’s parents headstone as well as John Hancock and Samuel Adams. I deviated from the group and found this gem. The ligature in ‘October’. So so awesome. And look at the skull and crossbones!

A few weeks ago I was in New Orleans and paid a visit to Saint Louis Cemetery #1 and took the above picture which is a detail of a grave where several people are buried. Equally beautiful.

3 responses to “Grave to Grave

  1. Pingback: Grove Street Cemetery | culture+typography·

Leave a Reply

